Caught between the devil and the deep blue sea

September 9, 2010

“I speak in smoke signals and you answer in code
The fuse will have to run out sometime
Something here will eventually have to explode
Have to explode” – the mountain goats

“Your teeth are for tearing, tear into me. The scent of your sweat, it smells good to me. All that we are just reeks with the sweetest belief. All I could want is silver and spinning, out from your arms and into the pretty pit of your heart.” -Neutral Milk Hotel


“there’s a map of the world on the wall in your room, green pins where you wanna go, white pins where you been, there isn’t even ten, you’re already feeling old. that far off feeling, that up close kind of ache. that instant karma that always comes too late.” – monsters of folk


I want to paint you with sunlight until you blind me



well since time outta mind i been lazy, times before that i was cruel, and times before that i was mean, i was mad. honey i ain’t never had nobody like you. and the times before that i was crazy, i saw the dark side of the moon. and the stars in the sky, they never caught my eye, cuz i ain’t never had nobody like you. -m. ward



“You know, I dream sometimes about flying. It starts out like I’m running really, really fast and I’m like superhuman! And the terrain starts to get really rocky and steep, and then I’m running so fast that my feet aren’t even touching the ground, and I’m floating! And it’s like this amazing, amazing feeling… I’m free, I’m safe. Then I realize: I’m completely alone. And then I wake up.” – 500 days of summer


Make of me
a tsunami,
bring the storm
to your shores.
You keep casting your net,
what are you looking for
in the ocean of my eyes?
I warn you,
the water is wild.



Oh Frailty, thy name is WOMAN!



“You came well-equipped with a gun on your hip, and some poison on your lips.” – margot and the nuclear so and so’s


Oh, the hazards of love! You learn soon enough! The prettiest whistles won’t wrestle the thistles undone! (I won’t want for love, but the wanting comes in waves.) – the decemberists



“How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes. Now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know, my weakness I feel I must finally show. Give me your hand and we’ll conquer them all, but give me your heart and I’ll just let you fall. Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see, but your soul you must keep totally free. Awake, my soul.” – Mumford and sons



“when the little things you say and do make me wanna be with you, rave on this crazy feeling, i know it’s got me reeling. when you say i love you, i say rave on.”- m. ward


You were no ordinary drain on her defenses, she was no ordinary girl. Oh inverted world!



“You’re a poem of mystery, you’re the prayer inside me. Spoken words like moonlight, you’re the voice that I like.” – Iron & Wine



“Do what I must while you do what you oughta, I am the wanderer’s wandering daughter, I take all my pain and I mix it with water. I’m lost and alone, and I’m fair and I’m free, you am what you is and I are who I be. What I’m lacking in strength, I make up for in smarts, you keep your stability, I’ll keep my heart. Still I romanticize all this disorder, I am the wanderer’s wandering daughter. Hop the next bus and run for the border, I am the wanderer’s wandering daughter. So long, it’s been good to know ya, I’ve got to be moving along. ” – Kimya Dawson


Sweet disposition, never too soon, Oh reckless abandon, like no one’s watching you. And we won’t stop until it’s over, won’t stop to surrender.


“And you know I mighta just flown

too far from the floor this time!

That was the turning point,

that was one lonely night.

The songmaker says, “it ain’t so bad”,

the dreammaker’s gonna make you mad,

the spaceman says, “everybody look down, it’s all in your mind.”

You think you might cross over,

You’re caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.

You better look it over

Before you make that leap.

And you know I’m fine,

but I hear those voices at night sometimes,

that justify my claim.” – the killers

Don’t tell me that i’m just being young, because i’ve got a wildfire, and it goes around and around and around in my veins


“Maybe it’s the heat in here, maybe it’s the pressure, you oughta head for the exits, the sooner the better. I am this great, unstable, mass of blood and foam, and no one in her right mind would make my home her home, and no emotion that’s worth having would call my heart its home, my heart’s an autoclave.” – the mountain goats



Love’s gonna let me know, like the day you took me home. We counted every minute left to go, my love’s gonna let you know. Time without you drags me down, It all feels right with you around, it all feels light with you around, like the night we hit the ground. And all the lightning sends a chill, can’t forget about you still.- yeah yeah yeahs



“How you must have suffered getting accustomed to me,
my savage, solitary soul, my name that sends them all running.
So many times we have seen the morning star burn, kissing our eyes,
and over our heads the gray light unwind in turning fans.”- Pablo Neruda

“you know why we don’t let kids make decisions? because they’re IDIOTS. teenagers fall in and out of love more often than they change their oil. WHICH they should do more often!” – House


“We’d brave those mountain passes, and you’d skip your early classes, and we’d learn how our bodies worked.”



“pay my respects to grace and virtue, send my condolences to good, give my regards to soul and romance, they always did the best they could. So long to devotion, you taught me everything I know. Wave goodbye, wish me well, you gotta let me go.” – the killers


‎”Relationships are messy, and people’s feelings get hurt. Who needs it? We’re young, might as well have fun while we can, save the serious stuff for later.” “What happens if you fall in love?” “Oh, come on. You don’t believe that, do you?” “It’s love, it’s not Santa Claus.” “What does that word even mean?!”- (500) days of summer



Well I’m some stain,dear, on your bedsheet, you’re my diamond in the rough


“I like boys that like their mothers, and I have a thing for brothers, but they always wait til we’re under the covers, to say “I’m sure glad we’re not lovers.” – Kimya Dawson



“Well I gotta lot, Lord I gotta lotta losin’, so I better get, yeah I better get accustomed, cause I gotta lot, Lord I gotta lotta losing, bye and bye and bye.” – Monsters of folk



shut up and quit your crying, give it time and you’ll be fine – kimya dawson



“it’s a road that you paved over indian graves, and you wonder why your dreams are crazed.” – monsters of folk



“Stop your parent’s car, I just saw a shooting star! We can wish upon it, we won’t share the wish we made. But I can’t keep no secrets, I wished that you would always stay. Last night I dreamt the whole night long, I woke with a head full of songs. I spent the whole day, I wrote em down but it’s a shame, tonight I’ll burn the lyrics, cause every chorus was your name. (Teach me how to use the love that people say you make!) Break this tired old routine, and this time don’t make me leave. I am a breathing time machine!” – The Avett Brothers


“I’ve written pages upon pages, trying to rid you from my bones.” – The Decemberists


“I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
In secret, between the shadow and the soul.
I love you as the plant that never blooms but carries in
Itself the light of hidden flowers;
Thanks to your love a certain solid fragrance,
Risen from the earth, lives darkly in my body.” – Pablo Neruda

love and other imaginary musings,

tangerine ❤

Leave a Reply

