There is no problem that can’t be solved with snowballs and rum.

March 27, 2010

The warmer weather has finally gotten me out of the house! I’ve been walking about five miles every day, when it’s not so cold that my ears hurt; my ears aren’t aerodynamic. Right when I started breaking out the skirts and flip flops, it snowed; FUCK YOU SPRING, YOU COCKTEASE. I’m planning on taking a Pilates class AND volunteering at the animal shelter, along with working and school. I’m slowly becoming Buddha; that might be nice, I’ll go buy a sitar. It’s probably like listening to Iron & Wine for eternity.

Things that make me smile:


ON THE SUBJECT OF MY NEUROSES: apparently I have onychophagia, dermatillomania, dermatophagia, and trichotillomania. They’re related to OCD, and possibly point to the brain’s inability to cope with stress. Damn. I discovered this when I googled compulsive nail-biting; my nails are painted a fluorescent blue to keep me from nom’ing them.

PANDAS. I F***ING KNEW IT.

A few weeks ago I went three days without sleeping. I was an asthmatic kitty with insomnia. “Thinking outrageously, I write in cursive. Oh, I am not quite sleeping, oh, I am fast in bed.” This is what happens when I have nothing to do. But now my Abnormal Psych class has started, and I’m working at a local grocery store! I’m way too interested in serial killers. I find anything else irrelevant.

It might be a real possibility for me to study in India for a year. Well fuck me sideways.

ON THE SUBJECT OF MY COOLER, WANDERING NEUROSES:Wanderlust: a strong, innate desire to wander or travel about and explore the world“. I’ve got it baaaaad. I’ve been researching all different kinds of gypsies, from the Roma gypsies to ‘Irish travelers’ (“pikeys“, but OH MY GOD don’t let them hear you call them that [“For every action, there’s a reaction. And a Pikey reaction… is quite a fuckin’ thing.” GO SEE SNATCH. GREAT MOVIE.]) and basically plotting my journeys, because why the hell else am I alive? Right now I’m listening to French, Hungarian, and Ukranian gypsy caravan music. It’s like good sex.

I’m proud of my ability to spontaneously orgasm. I’m like a ninja.

GET YOUR BIG GIRL PANTIES ON. IT’S TIME TO ROCK THIS BITCH.

“True hearts have eyes and ears, no tongues to speak; They hear and see, and sigh, and then they break.” Edward Dyer

“A young girl came to me, her fortune to see. And finally with anguish, she cried out to me, ‘Oh gypsy, gypsy! Please help me see! I want to know whether love will come to me! I prayed to God, I sang to Jesus, no one seemed to hear. Oh gypsy, when will my man appear!’ I looked at her in silence, into her young green eyes. ‘I do not see a man in your future at all, instead I see a woman, beautiful and tall. She will love you just the same, maybe even more. She wears a gypsy dress, and she has heard the call. Oh young girl, young girl, this is what I see, I am your fated lover, and you have come to me.'”

“Mothers of the rodeo, like anyone who’s watched a lover go-oh, and their love thrown down, torn and tossed around. Baby sayin’, “Stay with me, I’ve lost my money and my memory-y” – iron & wine

There is no problem that can’t be solved with snowballs and rum.

You are SUCH a waste of hair products


Who would give a law to lovers? Love is unto itself a higher law. -Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy, A.D. 524

I refuse to die the death of a lover. I will die a fighter, or I will live forever.

“Some women choose to follow men, and some women choose to follow their dreams. But your career will never wake up and tell you that he doesn’t love you anymore”

buddha collapsed out of shame

“There is no hope for a civilization which starts each day to the sound of an alarm clock”

Then you came along like a swan off of the lake. You flew across my eyes and out into space and I ran and I crawled and I chased to get out fast.

“I lived in your tall trees, amongst your fearless leaves.” bowerbirds

“It’s not a lover I want no more, and it’s not heaven I’m pining for. There’s some spirit I used to know, that’s been drowned out by the radio.” – the arcade fire

We will celebrate our youth with beer and muddy legs.

When they asked Gandhi what he thought of Western civilization, he said, “I think it would be a wonderful idea.”

I can’t wait to dance at your ass-pirate wedding!

“In a world of shock media and mass marketed Che Guevera shirts, the greatest act of rebellion is just being happy most of the time.”

“I get restless sometimes. I feel the gust of night winds inside my head and my guts twist up like birthday ribbons. My feet itch. And then I’m gone. A twilight pilgrim without a shrine.” -Rock, Paper, Cynic

“L-O-V-E, it’s a mystery, where you’ll find me, where you’ll find, all is love, is love, is love!” – karen o

“There were so many fewer questions when stars were still just the holes to heaven.” jack johnson

Conor oberst: m. ward could chew you up, spit you out, and put you in his fucking coffee.

i’ve got a phosphorescent secret

“I was dressed in embarrassment
I was dressed in white
If you had a part of me
Will you take your time
Even if I come back
Even if I die
Is there some idea
To replace my life” – sufjan stevens

OOH OOH BABY, YOU’RE A PSYCHOTIC GIRL

i am the explosions in your sky. living is the catastrophe and the cure. so long, lonesome. you are beyond the wall of sound. this is the first breath after a coma.

“if I lose to the water, lose it all, for you lover, you were all I wanted anyway.” – iron & wine

Storybook romances and first loves are all fine ideals, until you realize that the people you attach yourself to as a child are people that you would happily avoid as a grown-up.

Everything I had was burned up in the fire. [It feels better every time.]

“Let’s dance to Joy Division and celebrate the irony
Everything is going wrong but we’re so happy
Let’s dance to Joy Division and raise our glass to the ceiling
Because this could all go so wrong but we’re just so happy
Yeah we’re so happy” – the wombats

“Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass… it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

“I cut my long baby hair, stole me a dog-eared map, and called for you everywhere.” – Iron & Wine

If the road is a wine, then I my good sir, am a drunk

“Today is going to be a good day. Today I will turn off the news. And think about the 6.7 billion people who didn’t get shot.” – Rock, Paper, Cynic

“God, there are guns growing out of our bones, God, every road takes us farther from home. All these men that you made, how we whither in the shade, of your trees, on your wings, we are carried to the sea. God, give us love in the time that we have.” – Iron & Wine

“And in my best behavior
I am really just like him
Look beneath the floor boards
For the secrets I have hid.” – sufjan stevens

I’m in love with the voices of strangers and the faces of ghosts. Who are you, who are you, why are you in my dreams? My memories are being replaced by useless beautiful delusions. How inconvenient.

Out of Egypt, into the Great Laugh of Mankind, and I shake the dirt from my sandals as I run…. – sufjan stevens

I lost everything. I was inconsolable, for months. Until one day I realized I could fly. Just spread my arms, and go.

we’re chasing vodka with high fives

love,

tangerine

Leave a Reply

